Guava Troubleshooting

Discussion in 'Tropical Gardening' started by Glenda75, Mar 28, 2023.

1. Glenda75

Glenda75 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +6
    92B768F9-D865-4E05-B94C-B51C41CE7DA1.jpeg 052C0725-6624-440C-B20C-36250F9220C6.jpeg 9477707B-62BA-4A1C-A180-ED656FF7CB37.jpeg Hey There! I’m new to Gardeners Corner and have come in search of help for growing guava indoors. I’d be grateful for any advice on diagnosing some issues I’ve encountered- namely what I think may be leaf spot. And also, treatment options. I’d be really devastated making a wrong diagnosis and harming them. I have 14 guava trees total and a couple are over 5 ft. tall and they are approximately 2 1/2 years old(started from seeds).
    I have loads more questions, but I’ll start with this first! Thank you in advance! 0C05589A-9468-4477-9658-51416859C01A.jpeg

2. pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
    Ratings:
    +92,040
    Looking at picture one I'd say chlorosis, but looking at the older leaves it looks more like insect attack of some kind of leaf sucking pest.

14 trees in the house seems like quite a lot.:smile:

3. Glenda75

Ratings:
    +6
    Ha ha! Yes, it is a bit of a jungle in the sunroom! Thank you for your quick reply. So, if it’s chlorosis, I’m looking at amending the soil. I thought it could be insects as well, but absolutely no sign of an actual bug- even when I used a magnifying glass. No webs, sticky residue, etc.
    All plants, unfortunately are affected. I live in Canada and our winters are very dry, so I took to misting them twice a day to increase humidity (was about 32%)
    I thought I perhaps created an environment ripe for a fungal infection. They were grouped quite closely and I suspect air circulation was not great.
    I’ve been playing it safe with a 1-1-1 miracle gro fertilizer once a week.
    So maybe this could be a possible cause for chlorosis?

4. pete

Retired
    Ratings:
    +92,040