Hedging Ideas

Discussion in 'Trees' started by allang0831, Jan 17, 2012.

1. allang0831

allang0831 Apprentice Gardener

Ironmonger
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi everyone total novice here , looking for a bit of advice please . I have 2 autistic kids 5 and 3 who we would love to enjoy the garden this summer . My main worry is there are plenty of ways out onto the road . I was going to put up fencing but have just moved into the area and would rather not upset anyone , so decided a reasonably high hedge would be the way forward as hedging looks better . i'am not fussed about maintainance , as long as it deters them from the road and is not poisonous. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks

2. albo

albo Apprentice Gardener

Semi-retired
    Ratings:
    +1
    The problem you will have is how to create a reasonably dense and high hedge in a short timescale and at a reasonable cost without planting a monster that could get out of hand, such as Leylandii. You may want to limit the range to hardy evergreens without spines and a height of 5 or 6 feet, for example. Your soil conditions (probably clay to loam in Glasgow?) and sun or shade aspect might also be useful for us to give advice.

3. alex-adam

alex-adam Super Gardener

Ratings:
    +1,073
    I understand your concern about a fence and your very thoughtful consideration for the neighbours. Why not put up a tempory one, then grow a selection of native British hegde-row plants. When they are established take down the fence.
    a-a

4. *dim*

*dim* Head Gardener

Ratings:
    +1,593
  5. albo

albo Apprentice Gardener

Semi-retired
    Ratings:
    +1