Hello from Aberdeen Scotland

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by KathrynMac, Jan 25, 2007.

1. KathrynMac

KathrynMac Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    while I'm not a new gardener I am new to the NE of Scotland. I lived most of my days in the NW of the United States where the growing seasons are long and the soil lovely black and full of nutrients from sea life, and ancient volcanic actions.

Soil in Scotland seems to be a mystery to me. Here in Aberdeen there is a lot of sandy soil, as we are so close to the north sea this is to be expected.

In my front garden the soil is dry, very dry. Alpines do very well, so my herbs thrive year after year and resemble small trees rather than delicate herbs if I let them. Yet in my back garden there is a combination. near to the house is dry soil that is quite rich, yet needs a little fertilizer. I am planning this year to plant vegtables in a small area where it gets the most sunlight.

At the bottom of the garden it slopes and is very wet during the winter, but only for a month or so. The grass in this garden grows so well it must be cut every week otherwise we can have 5 inches of growth. At the bottom of the garden I am planning to plant fruit trees and roses. I will have some planters with strawberries as well.

Now my question is this. What is the best way to gain good soil, that will hold moisture in the front, and nutrient rich in the back? I am planning to plant organically, and have plans to keep lovely slugs and snails away that are humane and proven to work well. Any suggestions on what grows best vegtable wise in a garden would be useful. My vegtable patch will be 10 feet by 12 feet square.

Thank you very kindly.

2. rosa

rosa Gardener

Ratings:
    +14
    hi kathrynmac welcome to gc

3. UsedtobeDendy

UsedtobeDendy Gardener

Retired teacher and gardener
    Ratings:
    +172
    Hi, Kathrynmac - nice to see you!