Hello from S.Wales

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by SidSpider, Jan 29, 2008.

1. SidSpider

SidSpider Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All

Just thought I�d say hi and give a little background about myself.

I used to work in the building trade until developing an allergy to cement, which brought that career to an abrupt halt. As I enjoyed working outside I took an NVQ2 in amenity horticulture intending to go into landscaping, but ended up working on a Plant nursery for 10 years instead, right up until it closed down over a year ago.

Since then I�ve been doing factory work which I hate. As I don�t have a garden I thought I�d explore the online gardening world.

Look forward to chatting to you all in the future.

Paul

2. wiseowl

wiseowl Amiable Admin Staff Member

Philosophy of people
    Ratings:
    +91,667
    Hi Paul a very warm welcome to GC great signature
    very true. [​IMG]

3. walnut

walnut Gardener

Ratings:
    +15
    Hi Paul welcome to g c.

4. Helofadigger

Helofadigger Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Paul welcome to the forum.

What a shame about the plant nursery shutting down I can just imagine how different working in a factory is for you. Keep looking for another job you never know one might crop up and you could well be back among the plants. [​IMG]

How sad to not have a garden but even a few pots on the window sill or a bottle garden can be wonderful you don't have to have a 'real' garden to enjoy plants as I'm sure you well know.

Anyway I'm sure with your ten years of experience you are bound to have plenty of helpful advice to help us all out. [​IMG]
    Helen.xxx.

5. Sarraceniac

Sarraceniac Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    Hi Paul. Welcome to GC. It really is sad how many nurseries are closing. Scarborough lost it's only good one, a family run affair, about 8 years ago. The main one we have left is like a supermarket, i.e. no-one knows anything. They call it progress.

6. Kathy3

Kathy3 Gardener

Ratings: