Help, do I start digging?

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by ElleJay, Apr 19, 2009.

1. ElleJay

ElleJay Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Total newbie in need of help! We've had so much rain here. Do I try to start digging on wet sticky clay soil or wait a bit until it gets a bit drier? I've tried to dig in sand and compost, but end up in a squelchy sticky mess. Am I compacting the soil more by trying?

I would like a veg patch and I'm very conscious that seeds (green beans, peas, sweet corn, etc) need to be planted. Any help would be gratefully received.

Ellie

2. walnut

walnut Gardener

Ratings:
    +15
    Hi Ellie,I would certainly wait until it dries out you will find it breaks up easier when it dries then put in your compost and grit this will help to stop it bonding together again when it gets wet.

3. Helofadigger

Helofadigger Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Ellie welcome to the forum.

Know what you mean when you have to dig a patch of ground that hasn't been dug in a very long time and it's wet clay soil you end up becoming another foot taller after the dig!:D

But I also know when you want to get started you just have to go for it too, once you have done the first dig things start to improve and also your drainage too. After your first dig go over the area again pulling out the long rooted weeds and from there slowly dig over yet again and add what ever soil improver you wish to add as you go along. You may wish to pull out the big weeds on your first dig but I like to get cracking and just dig the area first as it gives me more of a greater sense of achievement.

What I would say is pick a nice day and get started after all time waits for no man or lady for that matter!:hehe:

Good luck and happy digging may you have as much fun with your clay soil as I do don't be put off you can do it girl.:thmb:Hel.xxx.

4. Steve R

Steve R Soil Furtler

Carer
    Ratings:
    +3,702