Help needed for a 'problem corner'.

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Beagle, Apr 14, 2011.

1. Beagle

Beagle Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    Hi all,

New to the forum and it's fair to say I'm a gardening novice!

We've lived in our house for a year now and are just starting to turn our attention to the garden.
    We've dug over the border down the side which is fine, but I'm not sure what to do in this corner. As you can see, there's a lot of ivy there and the soil is really hard and compacted. It's at the base of a large evergreen tree and some ivy roots are coming above the soil.
    I'd really like to have a continuation of the border around the corner and along the back fence, but I doubt very much if anything would plant and grow here. Am I right in thinking the ivy would stop plants growing? And if so, can anyone advise me how to build up this area so it's ready for planting?

Hope that makes sense! :)

Here're some pics of what I'm talking about:

Attached Files:

2. Fidgetsmum

Fidgetsmum Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +865
    Welcome.

My neighbour inherited some leylandii when he moved in, (although to be fair, I should add he does keep it well in check) and, between us and his leylandii, is a fence covered in ivy so I know partly, what you're up against. In addition I've got light, sandy soil so it doesn't hold moisture at the best of times and what water might chance to fall on the area is sucked up usually before my plants get a chance.

Looking at your pics, the first thing I'd suggest you do is cut all that ivy back right to the fence, bag it up and get rid of it.