help on how to improve my lawn

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by lawncareBob, Jun 7, 2014.

1. lawncareBob

lawncareBob Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +2
    Hi All,
    I'm relatively new in experience to looking after the garden and gonna appreciate some help on how best to do things with advice on tacking weeds on lawn, moss and bare patches and whether to bother using the stuff in granules that feeds and weeds the lawn.
    Here's the scenario - Lawn is a bit distressed and want to tackle it. it's got yellowish straw looking bits + bare patches. I never realised you need to put lawn feed in once or twice a year so never done that. I laid a new lawn myself (well with help from a friend 2 years ago). Since then it's developed bumps as well as bare patches. Do bumps/uneven areas develop? I had almost a flat surface of soil 2 yrs ago when I seeded the lawn. In hindsight wish I researched earlier how to care for the lawn :-(.
    Want to also get advise if I should aerate the soil with an aerator or not?
    I get full on sun in the afternoon which I now understand means the garden generally faces West, (good for sitting out in the evening). I don't know what type of soil I have I am based in north west London if that makes a difference to soil type.
    Appreciate any advice to get me started.
    Thanks Much
    Bob

2. lawncareBob

Ratings:
    +2
    Adding some photos

Attached Files:

3. bexy13

bexy13 Stay calm and eat cucumber!

Student
    Ratings:
    +423
    I would recommend lawn seed and then a week after that i would put some lawn feed on it then. Try a cheaper lawn seed (i find it works sometimes better than the leading brands) and see how that goes. :yay: hope it helps :yahoo:

4. lawncareBob

Ratings:
    +2
    IMG_9517_red.JPG IMG_9547_red.JPG IMG_9551_red.JPG IMG_9552_red.JPG