Help! Seedlings dying

Discussion in 'Propagation This Month' started by Nomi, Mar 14, 2015.

1. Nomi

Nomi Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +5
    Tearing my hair out. I'm a complete novice. I planted seeds for various plants (argeratum, lupins, mid-Feb after following instructions on seed packets. Germination was pretty quick (few days to a week) which got me pretty excited about being green thumbed. Alas, then they quickly grew spindly, and although the seedlings were very tender and probably not strong enough to prick out, I did to make them grow better. Now, growth seems arrested in most parts and they've started to droop and appear very weak. My lupins started well but have ended up sorry looking too. I've grown them all indoors in as much light as possible between 15-22 degree C. I noticed that when they started germinating they started bending towards light and grew spindly since then.
    What do I do now, as I have already pricked them out but they have stopped growing and looking weaker and weaker. Help please!

2. philomel

philomel Pottering in SW France

Ratings:
    +846
    Hello and welcome Nomi. So sorry to hear about your problem with seedlings. If you start seeds this early, you need to have them in a suitable greenhouse for the light or use artificial plant lights. When they grow spindly and weak like this they will probably not survive despite any remedies you try. They will be very prone to fungal diseases etc
    Sorry to bring bad news. Someone with more experience and suggestions will hopefully be along soon.
    Do have a good look around this site. Everyone is very friendly and there are many excellent articles and threads with lots of information. Good luck
    :sign0016:

3. Nomi

Nomi Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +5