HELP - What to do with leftover bedding plants ??

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by bilabonic, Jun 11, 2009.

1. bilabonic

bilabonic Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All

I have filled my box's and raised beds with these Petunia bedding plants and have about 8 leftover.

http://www.thompson-morgan.com/plants1/product/p83717/1.html

I Have no more room for box's. But like the look of the pot/frame they have on the site.

How can i make one of these ?

Bear in mind i am a newbie and this is the first year i have done summer beds but enjoying it.

Cheers

2. JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
    +48,968
    Like you I hate throwing away plants I've bought or grown from seed, so usually end up with them crammed into any space I can find. All you need is a reasonable sized pot and it would be easy to stick in half a dozen canes with strings between to make a frame work.

3. Loofah

Loofah Admin Staff Member

Ratings:
    +23,857
    Just buy an obelisk from somewhere or as John says, pot with canes...

4. bilabonic

bilabonic Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers guys, never seen one of those 'obelisks' . Will have a look later or get some cane, totally new to all this.

5. strongylodon

strongylodon Old Member

Retired
    Ratings:
    +29,474
    The Petunia advertised is not really a climber:skp: but a spreading plant (it has no thorns, hooks,tendrils). It will need tying to a cane, wire or any support in order to make it 'climb'.

6. clueless1

clueless1 member... yep, that's what I am:)

Ratings:
    +19,596
    Pot them up and keep them handy in case the slugs attack your main display. Then you can just swap them out.

7. Sam1974x

Sam1974x Gardener

Ratings:
    +17
    I must admit only yesterday to cramming in the last few of my petunia's into pots that didnt really need anymore :hehe:

8. Kristen

Kristen Under gardener

Ratings:
    +12,668
  9. NatalieB

NatalieB Gardener

Ratings:
    +0