How can I make August more exciting?

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by GardenDisaster, Aug 10, 2024.

1. GardenDisaster

GardenDisaster Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    Hello!

I'm in my third year of loving a garden, but am noticing that after a very lovely May/June/July, August is looking a little flat, colour-wise.

I've been experimenting with quite 'pedestrian' seed growing (nasturtiums, zinnias, cosmos, marigolds, sweet peas) and have hydrangeas, lavender, buddleia and geums... But none are looking their best now, when the weather is still enticing us to sit outside.

What are you planting to give you a bit of pleasure in August? Is the trick in second sowing so I can replace the more tired examples? I've been deadheading which has definitely forced two, sometimes three flushes of flowers.

Love to you all for keeping me engaged with your chatter.

Disaster x

2. pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
    Ratings:
    +92,040
    Some plants naturally come later Dahlias or chrysanthemum.
    Some roses go on for ever.
    Just look around and see what is looking good in other gardens this time of year.

Half hardly annuals should have at least a month or 6 weeks before they start to look past it.

• Agree Agree x 1
    • Plantminded

Plantminded Keen Gardener

Retired
      Ratings:
      +2,961
      Heleniums and Rudbeckias look good in August and beyond. Most ornamental grasses are also now flowering and will give you interest until March next year. Garden centres display what's looking good at the moment so a trip there will help you. I go at least once a month to see if there's anything I've overlooked!

• Agree Agree x 2
      • Like Like x 1
      • NigelJ

NigelJ Total Gardener

Mad Scientist
        Ratings:
        +22,565
        I was going to say try bungee jumping, white water kayaking or maybe rock climbing.