how did you start keeping a journal/diary

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Dianthus, Aug 7, 2009.

1. Dianthus

Dianthus Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Im new to gardening and although I have kept all of the information lables of all the plants I have bought I dont know how to organise them and try to remember where I planted them all :cnfs: I need help how did you start keeping a journal/diary when you started and didnt know all the plants by instant recognision.

2. redstar

redstar Total Gardener

Domestic Goddess
    Chester County, PA, USA, Plant zone 4 & 5
    Ratings:
    +11,493
    Will love to see how this thread is answered. I've been gardening for 20 years, have several gardens.
    Did cross my mind once to have a journal, but did not start it, and too late now in my opinion. I seem to just remember where I planted all the plants and bulbs but some of the names I've forgotten.

I would think, you'd have to have a diagram of each garden, and it gridded out with numbers, then that number section would list the plants in that grid area. Just a suggestion.

3. gingernutsman

gingernutsman Gardener

Ratings:
    +4
    Hi Diane and welcome to the board,
    I take digital pics of my garden at least once a month and this gives not only a reference of where the plants are, what they are but also the coulor, how well they did this season and which ones to transfer to another location. I also use long marker sticks to record names and species. The first year I did this with the markers in my last garden, I used the wrong type of pen and when I went to check out a p[lant, the sticks were all blank..Doh

4. Dianthus

Dianthus Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi thanks for the response red star and gingernut it make me giggle about the blank markers tee hee !