Hylands House

Discussion in 'Garden Visits' started by Mark Pumphrey MSGD, Dec 5, 2011.

1. Mark Pumphrey MSGD

Mark Pumphrey MSGD Apprentice Gardener

Landscape designer
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hylands House over recent years has become synonymous with the V music festival and has even hosted the European scout jamboree in 2005 as a child I remember the house exploring the gardens. At the time the house was boarded up and in a terrible state of repair. During these visits I would be informed by my parents that the gardens had been designed by Humphry Repton. At the time this had little meaning to me but now as a garden designer I was curious and looked forward to visiting the restored house and gardens.

Over recent years the house and to some extent the gardens have been restored with extensive work being carried out to the house. Cornelius Kortright employed Repton to produce proposals and it is understood he produced a leather bound ‘red book’ with maps and sketches showing ideas for the estate. Sadly the red book of Hylands is lost and only a 1814 Tithe map remains which shows the estate. Based upon the tithe map it is assumed many of Repton’s ideas were executed by Kortright.