I don't know where to begin

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by miss rhianne, Jul 5, 2006.

1. miss rhianne

miss rhianne Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    After 4 years my old cottage is now renovated and would now like to tackle the garden, but I have never done gardening before. I have some lawn and nothing else, the ground seems to be clay and the lawn gets quite mushy when wet. I am very keen on scented flowers and have bought a climbing rose. Can it be planted at the edge of a gravel drive or will I have to dig a border? Any advice would be very welcome, thanks!

2. Beefy

Beefy Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    If you check out the rose section you will get a few ideas.Dont be scared to ask because there are a lot of very helpfull people on here.The first step is the hardest and you have taken it --good luck :D :D

3. wildflower

wildflower Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    besides roses you could also invest in a lavender collection ..and introduce some herbs which have lovely fragrances..

4. UsedtobeDendy

UsedtobeDendy Gardener

Retired teacher and gardener
    Ratings:
    +172
    Hi, Miss rhianne, and welcome! You don't need a border, but you do need to have the ground reasonably well prepare before anything gets planted. If the ground where you have gravel, and are thinking of putting your rose is as mushy as the lawn, then you really need to dig in some compost and/or mulch (from B+Q or a garden centre, not expensive!) to hepl drainage. Then, so long as you dig a hole a bit bigger than the pot the rose is in just now, and roughen up the base of the hole with your fork (and add some growmore, or bonemeal if you like, but I don't...) then pop the rose in, fill in around it with more soil, and firm in well with your feet, and water well, it should do well. Photos when you've done it will be welcome! ;)

5. frogesque

frogesque Gardener

Ratings:
    +1