I don't know where to start - front garden

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by OnTheHut, Mar 4, 2011.

1. OnTheHut

OnTheHut Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all.

I am a gardening newbie - and I have decided to tackle our front garden first after moving into our house.
    The problem I have is that I only have one day off a week, and I really want to start doing something with it asap.

At the moment, it is a square patch of grass, with what looks like very neglected flower beds all the way round. I think I can see a few daffodils popping up through the weeds!

I plan to strip the garden back to a blank canvas, to start again, and hopefully save any plants that may be there. There is a large long spindly plant, all on it's own, that had a single white flower and a few big leaves at the bottom in september - I have no idea what that is, so I may post a picture for ID when I can take one.

Ok - so once I have cleared the weeds, mown the grass and edged the flower beds into shape, what should I do with regards to soil and plants?!

It's a north facing garden, minimal direct sunlight, and from what I can see, without testing is that the soil is full of stones and it's more than likely clay type (I live near a village called Barton - Le - Clay)!

It is about 15 foot long by about 10 foot wide, and I have 2 x 120 litre compost bags in my back garden. Should I dig this into the soil? Will that be enough for a boarder of about a foot wide all the way round?

As you can see, I'm a bit new to all this! Any advice would be appreciated!

2. Daytona650

Daytona650 Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi OnTheHut, and welcome.
    Sounds like you've pretty much got a good plan already. Yes, clear the weeds, mow the grass, get rid of everything that's dead, or that you don't like, and see what's left.