If you were designing a lawnmower...

Discussion in 'Tools And Equipment' started by green fingered designer, Oct 29, 2007.

1. green fingered designer

green fingered designer Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Dear All,

This is an open invitation and request for all of your thoughts and know how relating to gardening and lawnmowers in particular.

I am a final year student of product design engineering living near Glasgow. For my final year project I have decided to take on the challenge of designing a better lawnmower.

The idea is not to make it technically better than those which are currently available for I have seen that there are some very expensive and sophistocated mowers out there, but rather to design something which is easy to use for everyone. It is to be a small mower for the increasing number of small gardens out there these days.

As gardeners, enthusiasts and experts, I would be interested to hear your thoughts on current products (good points and bad), your own experiences (again good and bad) and any general ideas you have for making a light, usable lawnmower for small gardens.

I greatly appreciate any help you could provide and will take on board any information you give,

Thank-you in advance

Andrew.

2. Pro Gard

Pro Gard Gardener

Ratings:
    +6
    It already exists. Take a look at the eteisia Pro 46 and Pro 51k and see if you can translate some of the features across.

3. geoffhandley

geoffhandley Gardener

Ratings:
    +2
    Oh for one that will take itself to the compost heap and empty itself!! [​IMG]
    I don't mind cutting grass. Its all that business of taking off the grassbox, walking down to the compost heap and back again, restarting the engine.... :(

4. Dave W

Dave W Total Gardener

Anything I fancy and can afford!
    Ratings:
    +3,035
    Self adjusting for height of cut.
    Self propelled.
    Self composting.
    Self emptying.
    Self starting.
    >>>>>>>>----

[​IMG]

5. Nursewhen

Nursewhen Gardener