I'm new to composting. Just need a little advice please?

Discussion in 'Compost, Fertilisers & Recycling' started by Earthman, Jun 7, 2008.

1. Earthman

Earthman Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I've just had a major cutback/pruning session in the garden where I've employed a shredder and so far have collected 5 near full plastic rubble bags of the garden waste. I wonder if that's considered a lot for one collection....

There is still a little more to do, and quite a large amount of garden waste out there which is too small to be shredded, but can be put in my garden waste bin. Or could I use this as compost aswell?

I've read on a site that I need to get the balance of brown to green right, and that for poisonous/evergreen plants they would be best composted separately. I have Cherry Laurel, Oleander and a Euphorbia of some sort. Should I think twice of mixing them with the present shredded material?

2. Beechleaf

Beechleaf Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    You can certainly shred the laurel and compost it with the rest of the material, and I assume the others will be OK as well. Laurel leaves are much quicker to rot once they have been shredded.
    Plant that are poisonous to people will rot down.
    Evergreens will compost, although conifer material tends to be very slow.
    Your 'small' waste should be perfectly good to compost.
    Don't put anything with weed seeds on it in the compost heap.

3. Earthman

Earthman Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Would this include Ivy aswell then? You see I may have put some twines and leaves of some Ivy off the wall, into the bags. Although, I wouldn't say a considerable amount, as it wasn't something I was actively cutting back. It hasn't been able to grow that well, because of other plants that were growing in front of it, such as that large rose bush.

p.s for any future pics of my garden, I shall upload them at a size of 800 x 600, and a few at a time, so as not to confuse.

4. Earthman

Earthman Gardener

Ratings:
    +0