1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Indoor winter greens using flood and drain system with PVC pipes

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by Dagger, Nov 14, 2017.

1. Dagger

Dagger Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +9
    Let me just quickly introduce myself: I’m a happy hobbyist farmer from Sweden and I need those leafy green vegetables even in winter time so I figured, why not grow them in a hydro system!

I have made an initial design (See the picture) but I have not found this exact setup anywhere else so now I need your advice: (sorry for poor picture quality!! See picture: [​IMG][​IMG]

First, is the general idea right or are there any major faults in my design?

I want to use organic nutrition if possible, that's why I have clay pebbles in the pipes to act as a bio-filter. Will this work and what nutrition is preferred? Do I havve to buy it or could I make my own?

The reason for using two separate water tanks is to not have the pump running all the time. This way I can have a quick pump with a float-valve that pumps all the water to the self-draining tank. Is this a good idea?

Will it be to dry and warm? The setup will be pretty close to a wood fired stove going almost constant in daytime.

Will temperature fluxes be a problem? Since we have little or no extra heating it gets pretty cold over night. Haven’t yet measured the MAX/MIN temp but guess is MAX 25 and MIN 15.