Is it the end or the beginning?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by Madahhlia, Dec 27, 2012.

1. Madahhlia

Madahhlia Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +3,090
    I'm more than likely to be retiring in July, and have felt desperate for it at times over the last few years. However, as it draws closer, I'm having mixed feelings.

First there's some concern about coping financially as my monthly income will drop from low to even lower - still more than some people get, but I'm concerned that it will be miserable watching every penny.

I'm also getting worried about missing work - well, not the actual work, but having colleagues, companionship, fun, camaraderie and all that.

Also, I work in a school, and it's been a bittersweet time, having Christmas fun with the kids, thinking that this'll be the last time for all of that. The last Christmas play, the last party, the last glue and glitter afternoon......I'm amazed I'm getting so sentimental!

I guess I'm beginning to confront the fact that retirement is one of the big milestones of life, the beginning of the end, one might say. Having spent my entire life in a state of extended immaturity doing as many age-inappropriate things as I can think of it is a shock to contemplate this big change.

I always thought I would be immune to retirement angst, having worked part-time for years and having many hobbies and interests I want to pursue. Maybe the dark days of winter are obscuring all of that and when spring comes I'll be away and off!

Anyway, I'm sure there are many old (sorry!) hands on here, any gems of advice to be gleaned about any of the above? Did anyone find retirement a tricky moment to handle?

• Like Like x 1
    • clueless1

clueless1 member... yep, that's what I am:)

Ratings:
      +19,596