June - what seeds to plant?

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by tuttut.bisous, Jun 6, 2013.

1. tuttut.bisous

tuttut.bisous Apprentice Gardener

running on empty
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi everyone,
    Well the tunnel is nearly up and running and I haven't a clue what seeds I can start planting. Is it too late to plant tomato seeds now?
    I am sorry for the daft questions, I am very new to all this veg and fruit growing, but it is never too late to learn right? :)
    I've had conflicting advice from a few of my neighbours and now do not know what I can and cannot plant :dunno:. I am half tempted to just put a row of every seed I have and see what comes up lol. Thanks in advance, abbs

2. clueless1

clueless1 member... yep, that's what I am:)

Ratings:
    +19,596
    Courgettes?

• Like Like x 1
    • tuttut.bisous

running on empty
      Ratings:
      +5
      I have courgettes, also melons and different variety of pumpkins - thanks will put them in first lol
      is it too late for the toms?

• JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
      +48,983
      It's a bit late for toms really, you might get a few ripen by september if you sow now. It would be worth looking in GCs for plants, I've seen quite good sized plants for 99p, that would give you a flying start.

• Like Like x 1
      • Informative Informative x 1
      • tuttut.bisous

running on empty
        Ratings:
        +5
        Hi John,
        Thanks for that tip, I am in France so not sure GC's will help but I will look in the local markets etc.

• noisette47

noisette47 Total Gardener

Ratings:
        +15,335
        They might still be selling tomato plants on your local market, abbs. Perhaps not as much choice as growing from seed, but would give you a head-start this year.
        What about Sweet Peppers, Aubergines, Chillies??

Beaten to it again! Zut!

• Like Like x 1
        • tuttut.bisous

running on empty
          Ratings:
          +5