Lavender in trough planters

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by DavidMey, May 15, 2024.

1. DavidMey

DavidMey Apprentice Gardener

Desk bound office bod
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi, we have some lavender plants and have decided to plant them in some wooden trough planters placed in our front garden will they will get lots of sun light.

My question is do we need to line the planter with some kind of membrane and also what soil is best to fill the planters with?

I’m a complete beginner when it comes to gardening so please keep any advice very simple to understand for a novice like me.

Thank you all.

David

2. fairygirl

fairygirl Total Gardener

retired
    Ratings:
    +5,144
    Not a plant I grow, as I don't like it, but yes - it's always better to line a wooden planter. You can use old compost bags if you have them- just staple them on. Membrane isn't any good as it lets water through, so you wouldn't be protecting the timber.
    A soil based mix is best for any plant that's going to be potted long term. Compost is fine for a season, but it gradually disappears, so it's not ideal for long term use. You can buy soil/loam based mixes at GCs etc, or you can mix some garden soil with any compost you already have. Some grit mixed in as well will help with keeping the drainage right, as lavender doesn't like being waterlogged.
    It's also a good idea to fill the planters really well. Any soil mix will gradually drop over time, and that can be a pest as the plants will then be too low. You can add a layer of grit or gravel around the plants once they're in. That's mainly for aesthetic reasons.
    If the planters are going on a hard surface, it's also a good idea to raise them up a little and that will allow excess moisture to get away, especially in winter. Anything will do - I often use little offcuts from timber battens or similar.