Lawn prep

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by carlnorwich, Oct 13, 2011.

1. carlnorwich

carlnorwich Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    We've moved into a new build house and have a small area of back garden that was just all weeds, the boys have been playing football out there and the weeds have now all gone (well, the heads have).

I have dug it over and removed as many of the weed roots as I can, I would now like to lay turf.

My question; I will have definately left some weed roots behind, won't these roots re-establish and grow through my lovely new lawn?

Should I do anything before I lay the turf to prevent this from happening?

Many thanks in advance.

2. *dim*

*dim* Head Gardener

Ratings:
    +1,593
    I'm not an expert however,

not much you can do about weeds ... they will always be present on lawn ...

what you can do, is wait a couple of weeks and spray the new weeds that grow with a suitable weedkiller such as roundup ...

then wait a few days, remove the dead weeds, rotivate or turn the soil with a fork, rake, then level off by taking a long ladder ... tie 2 ropes onto the ladder and drag it accross the surface ...

add some superphosphate or bonemeal (not blood/bone/fishmeal) onto the surface then turf ...

from what I have read, now is a very good time to lay turf

in spring/summer, if weeds appear, treat them with an appropriate weedkiller, or remove by hnd if it is not a large lawn

• Like Like x 1
    • clueless1

clueless1 member... yep, that's what I am:)

Ratings:
      +19,596
      Sorry to contradict you Dim, but I don't think Roundup is going to be an effective option at this time of year. The weeds have to be actively growing for it to work, and if they do that at all now, they wont be doing for much longer this year.