Lawn repair..

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by ThreePutt, Apr 18, 2006.

1. ThreePutt

ThreePutt Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I am a bit of a novice at this and would appreciate some advice

Moved into a new home a few months ago, so this is our first spring. We have a fairly large garden, with approx 1200 m2 at the rear and 150m2 to the front laid to lawn (if I am allowed to call it that). Cut the grass two weeks ago and realised how much moss there is in it. Not sure what the history of the lawn has been to date, but looks like the grass was cut regularly and not much else. Some areas are in shade, the weed count doesn�t appear too bad and I�d like to think that with some time and effort, a nice lawn could result.
    So far I have spread lawn sand to kill the moss, and have large swathes of black stuff all around. I am now contemplating the next steps which I think are:
    1 Hire mechanical scarifier and remove moss ââ?¬â?? 1 week after spreading lawn sand.
    2 Hollow tine, top dress, re-seed etc. Mechanical aerators for hire seem to be like gold dust, and hate to think how much sand etc I�ll need. How much time between scarifying / hollow tining,
    3 Reseed bare areas. When?

Previous gardening experience at the last house was to manually dug up the garden by hand, level and relay new turf. This gave great results. However at less than 200m2 going the nuclear route was not too difficult to contemplate. The scale of the new garden is a wee bit daunting at this time. That said would like to end up with a nice lawn and I am prepared to put in the time and effort. It would be great to sit in some green grass over the summer, even if more drastic measures have to be employed come the autumn