Laying garden gravel/chippies??

Discussion in 'Garden Projects and DIY' started by Bob86, Feb 15, 2012.

1. Bob86

Bob86 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

I'm completely new to gardening (other than cutting grass and pulling weeds!!!) and I'm looking into laying garden gravel in part of the garden of our recently built house. The garden is pretty big and we have half of it as grass and the other half is where a lot of the excavations were done for sewage, gas, water etc and is currently....well a bit of a mess really. I thought about just sewing grass seed but the soil is very rocky and it would take an age to clear the stones so I (my wife really!!) wanted to make part of it a veggie patch and the rest gravel. What I'm looking for is advice on how best to do this. What I plan to do is hire a mini digger to level the ground then lay weed control fabric with the decorative gravel on top. It all sounds very simple, but like I said in my first sentence, I'm very new to gardening and I'm not sure if it is indeed as simple as that. If someone with a bit of knowledge in this area could shed some light on the pros and cons of this type of garden and let me in on any trade secrets it would be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,

Bob86.

2. JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
    +48,986
    Hello and welcome to the site Bob :)

What size area have you got there? The mini-digger idea sounds good to me if you have a big area that is very uneven and all you want to do is lay gravel. Gravel doesn't sound too inspiring though, what would you use the gravel area for?

3. Bob86

Bob86 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi JWK and thanks.