Leeches?????

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by pete, Oct 14, 2010.

1. pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
    Ratings:
    +92,090
    I cleaned out the filter to my pond the other day and the box that contains the filter mediums had what looked like small leeches, only about half inch long, stuck to the bottom and sides of the box.

I just wonder if thats what they were and if they are considered a pest.

2. JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
    +48,995
    I haven't seen any for years pete, as a kid they were fairly easy to find in ditches and streams. I'm no expert but would not have thought they were a pest. What are you worried about? Have you got fish that they might affect?

3. pete

Retired
    Ratings:
    +92,090
    Yes John just wondering if they are actually leeches, should have took a pic but didn't both at the time.

And also the fish seem fine so I'm not really bothered too much , more curious about them and what they live on.

4. Dave W

Dave W Total Gardener

Anything I fancy and can afford!
    Ratings:
    +3,035
    See if this helps Pete -
    http://www.bumblebee.org/invertebrates/ANNELIDAb.htm

Last ones I saw was a couple of years ago in a small lochan in the Cairngorms and they were all pretty small, but I can remember that when I was I boy living in Surrey we'd find quite big fat ones when out hunting for tadpoles and sticklebacks in the local ponds.

5. pete

Retired
    Ratings:
    +92,090
    Thanks Dave, I appreciate the info.

Next time I'll take some pics as I'm still not sure.

6. Kandy

Kandy Will be glad to see the sun again soon.....

Head gardener
    Ratings:
    +6,543