Leek seedlings splitting

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by Leadbelly, Apr 5, 2009.

1. Leadbelly

Leadbelly Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Looking for advice. Using small pots I planted some leek seeds using the tunnel to bring them on, I must stress this is my first time from seed and using the tunnel the seedlings grow to about 2" high so I replanted them into a raised bed within the tunnel to aid there growth with the intention to plant outside once they had reached pencil size. The seedlings are now about 3/4 inches high but they have split into two equal sized shoots is this normal or have I planted on to early. I have tried to look this up in my gardening books and cannot find any info on this matter. I am just taking it for granted within my own head that a leek should have a single shoot.

Thanks in advance Russ.

2. daitheplant

daitheplant Total Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +2,881
    Is it 2 definite shoots or 2 leaves Russ? Any chance of a pic?

3. Kristen

Kristen Under gardener

Ratings:
    +12,668
    That behaviour sounds more like an Onion - Japanese Onions, or possibly Spring onions

Can you post a photograph? I think that would help.

4. mchumph

mchumph Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    most of my "musselborough" seedlings have done the same thing. I assumed it was a "main" shoot with a side leafy bit so haven't been too worried about it.....until now!

5. JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
    +48,979
    I think what you are describing is just the main shoot bent over and not yet fully sprung out of the soil - which is how they emerge and nothing abnormal. It should spring out in a week or so. A photo would help to confirm.

6. Leadbelly

Leadbelly Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry for the delay I have been tiling and fitting the bathroom for she who must be obeyed, just taken photo this morning a week on from my post and things seem much the same.

Russ.

7. JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
    +48,979