Leeks and Carrots

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by strongylodon, Feb 8, 2012.

1. strongylodon

strongylodon Old Member

Retired
    Ratings:
    +29,477
    Strangely, after growing literally millions of Bedding plants over the last thirty years, apart from Toms and Courgettes, I have never grow any other veg.

Now I have a small patch (not the bald one the veg one:D) I need to know what are the best Carrot and Leek seed to buy? Are Leeks ok to grow on sandy soil? I know carrots are.

2. Dave W

Dave W Total Gardener

Anything I fancy and can afford!
    Ratings:
    +3,035
    Sandy soil should be ok, but add a fair bit of well rotted manure or compost to aid water retention. They are hungry feeders so a dressing of a balanced fertiliser before planting (or sowing) is a good idea as is an occasional liquid feed.

3. JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
    +48,995
    For carrots I've been growing Nantes 2 and Autumn King for a few years, nice sized and good flavour, and they store really well. In fact we still have a few in the ground, although frozen now they will be fine once the thaw comes. For leeks I've grown Mussleburgh for the last few years with good results. Last season Kristen gave me some Carlton F1 leek seed and I can't tell the difference between them and the much cheaper seed Mussleburgh.

4. Dave W

Dave W Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +3,035
    Like John I grow Autumn King carrots - great crop and does keep in the ground. I also grow Sugarsnax - a smaller carrot as an earlier crop.
    Leek - I used to grow Musselburgh and it grew well but had a tendency to develop rust so I now go for rust resistant varieties.

5. daitheplant

daitheplant Total Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +2,881
    I also agree with Aurtumn King carrots, New Red Intermediate is also very good. As for leeks, you can`t go far wrong with Mussleburgh and Lyon Prizetaker.:dbgrtmb:

6. strongylodon

strongylodon Old Member

Retired
    Ratings:
    +29,477