Looking for a feature tree

Discussion in 'Trees' started by Dragonfly Dianne, Oct 28, 2015.

1. Dragonfly Dianne

Dragonfly Dianne Gardener

Ratings:
    +52
    Hi, I'm looking for the right tree for the corner of my garden, im planning on taking up the plum tree and laural that are there at the moment and replacing them with one nice tree.
    I'm new to gardening and want to get it right, I like the red trees, but I'm open to all surgestions.
    I brought a smoky bush yesterday, but not sure the corner of the gArden it the correct place, it is small at the moment so would be hidden behind the fern infront.

All advice welcome, I want to get it right :)

2. redstar

redstar Total Gardener

Domestic Goddess
    Chester County, PA, USA, Plant zone 4 & 5
    Ratings:
    +11,468
    there is a crab apple that struck my fancy not long ago. I am still trying to find a spot for it. Forgot the name, but the berries in the fall are yellow, and they say the "light yellow" color reflects the moonlight at night. It would be good for the birds to eat on, and in the spring finds small flowers, the growth habit it more up than outward. So check it out. (BTW-I can find the name of the tree-by looking through a pile of mags when I am ready to get it)

Other than that, I would look for a tree that is a 4 season type, meaning that each season there is something unique in its appearance. the other thought is the birds, do you want a tree that is good for them, to hide in in the winter, to nest in etc. Not sure if you have some conifers to help the birds with winter protection.
    That are my thoughts.

• Like Like x 1
    • Redwing

Redwing Wild Gardener

Ratings:
      +2,830
      Ask yourself some questions like:

How big do you want it to get ultimately?
      How long will it take to get that big?
      Is it big enough for the space?
      Will it grow too big for the space?
      Do you want evergreen or deciduous?