Major help & advice for a extreme novice - if you could?

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by TidyRach, Jul 25, 2010.

1. TidyRach

TidyRach Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone!

I am new to gardening & have just moved in my first house (with a garden)

I'm a little bit stuck & could really do with some practical advice, but dont have any family or friends who can help me, but I dream of a lovely garden!

I'll start you off, if you dont mind, so you get the jist! Firstly i'd like to show you some pictures! We moved in to our house a couple of months ago & before us the house had been empty for 6 months & the garden had not been tended to for years. Alot of years! Below are some pictures of just how overgrown, shown very well in the pictures of the hedges! The one picture shows just how big a job we have to do, due to the size of the garden...

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

You can see how much work there is, but we are just going to concentrate on one area first, quite near the house...

Here is a proper before picture, taken just as we moved in

[​IMG]

Now i've edged it in (a bit) i'm a bit scared to do anything else until I know what I can create here. It is 9 metres long (approx) 1 metre deep at the one end & approx 4 metres deep at the other end.

[​IMG]

The main problem is, is that this is a rented house. We are long term renting it for around 2 years or more, so I do want to create something here & our eventual plan is to buy this house, so we dont mind spending our own time, or money (just not too much) on creating something, especially in this part, as it is the only main flowerbed in the garden & its right near the patio.