Mislabeled Thompson & Morgan Mini Munch cucumbers

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by Maria.R, Jul 19, 2024.

1. Maria.R

Maria.R Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Curious to know if anyone else has had this this year..

I've been growing Thompson & Morgan Mini Munch cucumbers for so many years and have never had a problem. They've become my favourite cucumber to grow, usually keeping around 8 plants each year. But this year I've now stagger sown from two of their packets and all of the plants have turned out not to be Mini Munch - so frustrating!

I also sowed 3 Unwins ones last month which are just beginning to grow tiny cucumbers, fingers crossed they are actually the right ones! Wondering if it's worth sowing some more now, or if it's definitely too late for this year..

I emailed T&M about it last month before I knew the second packet had also been mislabelled. They didn't seem very bothered and just sent me a replacement packet for next year :/

edit: oops T&M not T&S!

Last edited: Jul 19, 2024
  2. BobTG

BobTG Plantaholic

None - at last!
    Ratings:
    +260
    Unfortunately, this sort of thing is more common than you may imagine.
    Many of the more popular seeds are supplied wholesale to several of the larger seed retailers, and mix-ups do occur. There's not much you can do about it, other than let the retailer know and all they're likely to do is replace the packet, which is not very useful!

3. pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
    Ratings:
    +91,982
    T&M have traditionally been poor in their seed varieties being true imo.

Also very good at making wild claims about certain plants, but that's another story.

Sorry miss read your post, I don't know who T&S.

4. ViewAhead

ViewAhead Head Gardener

South of the South Downs, north of the sea!
    Ratings:
    +3,460