More advice on propagation please!

Discussion in 'Gardening Discussions' started by elliegreenwellie, Feb 23, 2007.

1. elliegreenwellie

elliegreenwellie Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Guys,

Total novice here again seeking your words of wisdom!

Well I have a few little plants coming up (all of which I have probably sown to early!) Busy Lizzies, Tagettes, lobelias & French Marigolds. They are still very small however when will it be warm enough to put them outside in the mini greenhouse and what is the best way to do this? Do I need to bring them in on a night for a few days?

In addition I am trying to grow some petunias & geraniums in a super 7 heated propagtor. The soil feels pretty warm, should I have it on all the time and is it OK to spray the soil if it feels dry?

Any tips would be much appreciated [​IMG]

Ellie-Green-Wellie

2. strongylodon

strongylodon Old Member

Retired
    Ratings:
    +29,477
    ege, its still far too early to put seedlings out in an unheated green house/minigreenhouse. Even the current daytime temperatures are not warm enough to get the seedlings growing, I would sow another batch in a week or so just in case you loose the first ones.
    Most seeds require a constant temperature to germinate equally otherwise it could be very erratic so don't switch it off. If it has a closed lid the soil should remain damp. A light spray on the soil surface would be ok but not on seedlings. Too much moisture could start fungal infections. Geraniums would be best sown in individual cells (plantpaks)as it minimises root disturbance.
    Don't worry if you loose a few seedlings we all do. ;)
    I have to grow 160,000 plants for the Parks Dept here and I don't always get it right, when you're working with nature she sometimes gets the better of you. After forty odd years of growing I'm still learning and yes I have sown too early on occassions. :D

3. elliegreenwellie

Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks Strongy.