Moss & new grass (What can I do)

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by Bob Duckodil, May 22, 2013.

1. Bob Duckodil

Bob Duckodil Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +2
    I am a novice, so please bare with me... My garden suffers from moss, so after reading a few forums decided that moss killer and a rake was the way to go...

In autum last year, I applied the moss killer, which then turned brown. I then raked away the brown moss. At this point, the grass looked very patchy with areas completely void of grass. I applied some grass seed. Winter set in, with plenty of snow etc, so I didn't expect much of the new grass seed. With no results, I have applied some more grass seed around 6 weeks ago... but again, I don't seem to be getting much luck...

And now the moss is beginning to grow back!

Can anyone suggest what I should do...

Tackle the moss and possibly remove any hope of new grass growth or soilder on with the grass growth and deal with the moss when the grass is stronger?

Also, the area does get some sun, but is shaded for most of the day (when we get any sunshine that is :o) )

Can anyone help?

Thanks in advance.

2. Kris Lord

Kris Lord Lawn Care Expert

Lawn Care Business Owner
    Ratings:
    +166
    How is the soil in the bare areas?
    Can you push a stick into it? Do any weeds grow there now that it is bare? Does it look "dead"?

A common mistake of novice gardeners is the thinking that grass will grow anywhere. It is a plant and needs a good soil to live in.

You need really good, friable soil for grass to grow in heavy shade. Have you got any pictures?

Kris

3. Bob Duckodil

Ratings:
    +2
    Hi Kris,
    I can push a stick into it, but it is tough. I have a foot based aerator, which sinks in with some ease (although does feel that it is scratching past stones half the time).

I have used products in the past, but nothing this year other than grass seed and fertiliser (pre-mixed).