moss/thatch problem

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by snadge, Jul 29, 2010.

1. snadge

snadge Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all

im a noob and just moved into a 3 bed house with big garden front, back and side - theres lots of patchy yellowy areas and most of these seem to have moss/thatch underneath and weeds dotted all over (i think thatch is the right term?) - anyway I spread some soluble weed and feed in hope it would destroy the weeds and moss and also help grass grow... its only been 24 hours but i can see the weeds dying already but Im starting to worry that the moss has prevented most or all of the weed&feed getting into the ground/grass - the side garden has much less moss/thatch and can see the weed&feed starting to work on most of that but the front main garden and back garden has most the moss - theres no mention on my W&F that it kills moss I was told it would...

whats the best way to get rid of this moss/thatch?

the neighbour said its all dead moss and grass and a good raking will clear the way for sunlight, water and feed - should I just rake it?

I also read about scarifying but i dont have any money to buy one at moment and dont know if I need it? I dont even have a rake...lol

below are some shots of my garden(s) taken today

FRONT GARDEN

[​IMG]

SIDE GARDEN
    [​IMG]

this one was taken yesterday

BACK GARDEN
    [​IMG]

any advice be great

THANKS

2. daitheplant

daitheplant Total Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +2,881
    Snadge Weed and Feed will not kill the moss. You need to get moss killer. Leave it for now and concentrate on getting rid of the weeds and thatch. Thatch by the way, is the build up of dead grass in the lawn, this needs to be raked out. Anyway, back to the moss. The best treatment is to spread Lawn Sand in the Autumn.:gnthb:

3. snadge

Ratings:
    +0
    the 'sand' - is that AFTER i use moss killer, let it turn black then rake it out (as per my dads info) and get the garden back to health..?