my garden progress thread

Discussion in 'Garden Projects and DIY' started by mgn, Apr 30, 2007.

1. mgn

mgn Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    not sure if this is the right part to do this, but I am a beginner. if not feel free to tell me [​IMG]

Okay, so I'm going to post pictures of my garden so I can see the progress being made throughout the year(s)
    I am a total beginner at this, so it is all a learning experience for me. I am keen but broke - so my keywords to gardening are - frugal - free - recycling -- if i spend any money it wont be much.
    It's going to be a challenge but one I think/hope i will enjoy.

2. mgn

mgn Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    this is a view up my garden taken the other day, after spending roughly 20 days getting it almost tidy. I still have one main rubbish pile to get rid of that is soil, stones and weeds and god knows what else is in there!
    Overall look I want to try and achieve is somewhere between cottage garden and romantic, but half decent will do ;)
    [​IMG]

3. mgn

mgn Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    At the far end of my garden is a suntrap area but it's ugly concrete. It's raised and has great views which is a great plus. At the minute it has a DIY brick thing for bonfires and a pile of wood to burn. I'd maybe like some grasses up at this end eventually so it kind of feels a little seasidey-ish.
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

4. tiggs&oscar

tiggs&oscar Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    What about making this concrete raised area your patio and spreading gravel on it. You need to provide a border of sorts to stop the gravel from spreading too much like a box hedge or edging. Then you have a fab vantage point to look at the rest of the garden from your suntrap.

5. mgn

mgn Gardener

Ratings:
    +0