New gardener needs help

Discussion in 'Swaps/Freebies' started by NicolaD, Feb 26, 2014.

1. NicolaD

NicolaD Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hello,

I am a new gardener and am hoping to set up a vegetable and herb garden for this year. I have just finished constructing my raised vegetable patches and vertical herb garden, both are made out of free reclaimed wood.

I am hoping to keep gardening costs down and as this is my first year of gardening I don't have many resources or collections of seeds to use. If anyone would be kind enough to donate any easy to grow vegetable or herb seeds as an introduction to gardening I would be very grateful.

Any advice regarding when seeds should be planted and when they should be moved outside would also be very much appreciated. I have always been interested in gardening as a child and this is my first year of having my own garden. I am very excited to get started but feel a bit overwhelmed by all of the information and choices available.

Many thanks,
    Nicola

• Like Like x 1
    • JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
      +48,979
      Hello and welcome to the forum Nicola :)

A veg plot is a great way to save money, get a bit of exercise and the chance to eat something much nicer than can be bought in shops. So you've made a good start building your raised bed.

It's best to grow what you like, so let us know what sorts of things you intend to grow: salad leafs are easy (lettuce, rocket, spinach), runner beans are very productive and cost effective, then there are things like courgettes which are relatively easy then tomatoes and cucumber if you feel adventurous.

We did have a seed swap parcel doing the rounds, but you'll need to be a member for three months, here's the thread:

http://gardenerscorner.co.uk/forum/threads/2014-seed-swap.53864/

• Agree Agree x 1
      • Friendly Friendly x 1
      • Ellen

Ellen Total Gardener

Volunteer at Cats Protection
        Ratings:
        +1,984