1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

New Lambs!

Discussion in 'Livestock' started by Baymule, Nov 29, 2016.

1. Baymule

Baymule Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +373
    This is our second lambing. Our ewes are half Katahdin and half Dorper, hair sheep. I studied sheep and goats to death while living on our little "town" lot. I settled on sheep and after we moved, we jumped in. I found bred ewes on Craig's List and we bought 4. The ewes were bred to a Katahdin ram. They rewarded us a couple of months later with lambs.

http://www.backyardherds.com/threads/baymule-finally-has-sheep-babies.32194/

We wound up with 5 lambs from the first lambing, I selected 2 as keeper ewes and we sent 3 to slaughter. I sold 2 1/2 of the slaughter lambs, so we kept the other half lamb that I did not sell. Best meat I ever tasted!

In June of this year, we bought a Dorper ram and brought him home.

http://www.backyardherds.com/threads/new-ram-and-sheep-shuffle.33829/

I hope ya'll don't mind the links I am posting. They tell what we have done with our sheep so far, and have lots of pictures in them.