new member,new lawn!

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by daveyp, May 17, 2005.

1. daveyp

daveyp Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    hello all!i'm a complete novice gardener but with our first child on the way i've finally got to sort our lawn out!so far i've removed all the old concrete paths and killed everything off with round-up.what i'm left with is an extremely uneven surface thanks to about FIFTY ants nests!i was thinking of rotavating next and levveling it all out,am i on the right track?or am i being stoopid?any advice will help loads!!

2. Will Dunkerley

Will Dunkerley Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi daveyp,

No you're not being stpid at all - and very much on the right track [​IMG] Rotavating will still be a tough job because of the grass roots in the soil, but it's well worth doing.

Then you need to rake the surface level, and firm it with the heels of your boots. After that, you can either rake in new seed or lay turf on top.

It's worth spending a few pounds on a bag of pre-seed fertiliser, and adding that to the soil surface. If you are turfing, put the fertiliser down before you lay the turf - that way the nutrients will be lower in the soil profile and will encourage quicker rooting.

Whichever you go for, you'll need to be on hand with a hosepipe though [​IMG]

3. daveyp

Ratings:
    +0
    thanks!itsgood to know i'm not doing it all wrong,as i said,i'm a complete novice!was thinking of using seed as its quite a large area and i need to watch the pennies!how long would you sugest i leave the levelled/raked soil before seeding?if at all?

4. Will Dunkerley

Will Dunkerley Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Well, you don't need to leave the soil after you've prepared it - you can just sow the seed and spread the fertiliser, rake it in, and let it do its stuff.