new potatoes

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by Ken, Jul 30, 2006.

1. Ken

Ken Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I recently harvested my crop of new spuds with drooling anticipation to find that after cooking they were bland and tasteless, They were Pentland Javelins, grown in fresh compost in containers.....nice looking small spuds, but very disappointing.
    Any suggestions anyone ???

2. Black Cat

Black Cat Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I am no expert but I know that some tatties do taste better than others (and it is a personnal choice)

I wonder if you might have over cooked them, I know I find that new tatties go from being almost cooked to mush very quickly. Did you put mint in the water? I think that helps bring out the flavour.

3. Kandy

Kandy Will be glad to see the sun again soon.....

Head gardener
    Ratings:
    +6,543
    Ken. Welcome to the site. I seem to remember years ago reading somewhere that Pentland Javeline was a good spud that was used by crisp manufactures as it was a good all rounder.

We haven't grown them ourselves,sticking mainly to varieties like Suttons "Foremost" "King Edward" and "Desiree"
    In the past we tried "Epicure" but didn't like the fact that they were floury and went too mush very quickly.

If you try again next year then a bit of feeding might not go amiss.

Sometimes it could just be a palet thing.What one person finds blande another person would rave over.I don't paticulaly like earthy tasting spuds but someone else might think they are the best thing since sliced bread.

Good luck for next year.Try a differant variety and just persevere

This year hasn't been too good for early spuds out our way due to the dry weather,though the taste has been ok.

Kandyfloss

4. Big T

Big T Gardener

Ratings:
    +0