new to edible gardening, not sure if my land is suitable?

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by Jack Bowen, May 30, 2012.

1. Jack Bowen

Jack Bowen Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    i am new to gardening, and after just moving into a new house with a huuuge garden i wanted to get the garden nice, got my self a green house and germinated lots of flowers to be planted up in the front garden and all is great..

but i am now wanting some veg's, i decided to dig up a plot right beside the greenhouse, were the land was a bit uneven but after digging up the plot its really obvious that at some point before we moved in the un even ground used to be what appears to be a lot of rotted "rubbish" there's old rusted cans, beer bottles.. broken glass, rotted clothes bits of plastic bags.. etc..

would i be safe planting crops here and maybe next year home grown tobacco? i have no idea what other rubbish has been there, im assuming it was along time ago as it was VERY over grown and the cans just crumble when touched..i think at one point someone has just dumped there rubbish bags there and left them.

i hope its ok as its the only place that's out of the way that i can get some crops growing and has full sun all day

thanks for all your help

also the veg i want to plant first is corn i have 25 plants all germinated and about 6 inch long that need to be planted out

2. Jungle Jane

Jungle Jane Middle Class Twit Of The Year 2005

Local Nutcase
    Ratings:
    +3,225
    I can't see how it would be a problem for crops that grow above ground, but root crops may be a little more tricky. My plots are full of bricks, bits of rubble glass etc and am choosing to only grow crops that grow above the ground until I get time to really remove all the stuff in there at a later date.