New to gardening - deadheading?

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by MattKB, Jul 16, 2024.

1. MattKB

MattKB Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi all,

I’m new to gardening and growing. I planted some geraniums, daisies and violas a few months ago in pots and they’ve been doing great.

However, in terms of dead heading the geraniums, I understand ‘snapping’ them off at the stem base when the head goes totally, but on mine some of the ‘bits’ die, but others are blooming so don’t really want to take the whole head. Or should I? Images below:

IMG_2830.jpeg IMG_2831.jpeg
    You can see that bits are gone here, whereas there are new buds coming. Do I need to go in and trim all these bits out individually?

Also my daises and violas were doing great, but lately they seem to be dying in batches:
    IMG_2840.jpeg IMG_2839.jpeg
    Deadheading here would be basically killing the entire plant. Has its time come and that's the end for this batch - if so, what do I do now? Dig them up and compost them?

Thanks! No information is too obvious, I know literally nothing.

2. On the Levels

On the Levels Super Gardener

Ratings:
    +1,463
    The geraniums you can cut the old stems right back and then the plant will hopefully send up new flower shoots. Don't know about violas...I think once they have flowered you leave them to seed and then you will get more next year. Don't give up on them yet there is still life in the plants.

3. katecat58

katecat58 Gardener

Ratings:
    +285
    I read recently (I think it was in a book about container gardening) that you can use nail scissors to snip out individual flowers on geraniums (I assume that you mean pelargoniums). Bit finicky for me I admit!

4. amancalledgeorge

amancalledgeorge Super Gardener

Ratings:
    +895