New to gardening

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by dandanuk, Mar 8, 2013.

1. dandanuk

dandanuk Gardener

Ratings:
    +41
    New to gardening
    Hello, I'm new to gardening and really want to learn more, it all started when my mum bought me some packets of seeds and said here have ago planting them with the kids at the weekend kids get mucky and have loads of fun doing it, so I thought yeah why not, so I bought a propagator and we planted so
    E pepper seeds, I also planted some spuds I had chittin we also planted some radish seeds, non have broken surface yet but we only planted the 6 days ago, tomorrow I'm making another raised bed 8 x 4 ft I'm buying some more top soil and compost to mix the compost is miracle grow , but I would like to start off with something that's pretty easy to grow and me and the kids will see flourish over the forth coming months so any help tips or advice you can throw my way would be very much apreciated many thanks regs Dan

2. clueless1

clueless1 member... yep, that's what I am:)

Ratings:
    +19,596
    Hello and welcome.

Are peas on your list of things to grow? I find peas are always a winner with my young son. The 'seeds' are large enough to handle easily, they germinate easily and quickly, grow quite rapidly, and what kid doesn't like peas straight from the pod?

• Like Like x 1
    • dandanuk

dandanuk Gardener

Ratings:
      +41
      Yes they are I love the idea of growing peas, what can you tell me about growing them, there a climbing plant are they not, so what would I need to put in place so they can flourish ? I don't want to bite off more than I can chew but I also don't want a bare garden bed either so I there is anything else you can suggest that would go along side the peas that would be great ,

• clueless1

Ratings:
      +19,596