new to growing veggies - how much sun?

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by moonboots, May 25, 2009.

1. moonboots

moonboots Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, this is my first post, so be gentle with me!

I'd like to have a small vegetable patch but my garden is at the side of my house and gets sun from about late morning to mid afternoon (so the hottest part of the day only).

Do I need an 'all-day' sunny spot to grow veggies or will this be the 'wrong kind of sun'!!

I am a complete novice so any advice would be much appreciated....
    thanks

m

2. Alice

Alice Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +81
    Welcome Moonboots.

I think you will be able to grow a good selection of veggies there. You'll certainly be all right with salad leaves, spinach, rhubarb, potatoes and other roots.

You would struggle with tomatoes, courgettes and squash.

What are you planning to grow ?

3. Flinty

Flinty Gardener

Ratings:
    +5
    I have two raised beds which have limited periods of sun each day. I can add the following to Alice's list:

dwarf French beans
    leeks
    radishes
    summer cabbage

It's best to concentrate on veggies which grow and mature quickly.

4. Kristen

Kristen Under gardener

Ratings:
    +12,668
    "I am a complete novice so any advice would be much appreciated...."

Here's mine!! : when you are just starting out I recommend grow what you like to eat, first and foremost.

By all means ask for advice on which are less suitable, or more difficult for a novice to grow, but by far the most important aspect of Newbiw Gardening is winding up with veegtables that you will just love to have grown!!

Apart from crops that take a long time to mature and "only just make it" in an English Summer (Sweetcorn perhaps, and Tomatoes outside [but I wouldn't advise growing them outside anyway in the UK - others will disagree I'm sure!]) the only risk is that you get a lighter crop. They will still be just as fresh, and tasty, when you pick them.