Newbie, erratic gardener

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Digginginclay, Feb 2, 2023.

1. Digginginclay

Digginginclay Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all! I'm a newbie, novice and erratic gardener. I'm the type of gardener who sits indoors and draws lots of plans but once outside, all those plans go out the window and I've dug yet another hole or 'created' another 'wildlife' area. At the moment I've got around 200 hundred foxgloves in the greenhouse that I started in autumn, a fancy little suitcase rammed with different seeds and not much idea what exactly I'm doing. I've had previous success growing some veg and basic flowers. But I struggle with all the clay soil. This year I really want to start to work on making a garden that will mature over time so I don't constantly keep changing things!
    Today I have 'landscaped' a 'raised bed' shape, smack bang in the middle of the grass, out of the clay I've dug from several holes.
    Not quiet sure what I'll be doing with it, but I might have a brainstorm overnight

2. noisette47

noisette47 Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +15,334
    If you want a beautiful garden full of happy, healthy plants, tackle the clay! Sorry if that's not what you want to hear, but in the long run it will save you hundreds of pounds, and lots of heartache, to invest in any and every form of soil improver that you can lay hands on. Whatever your plants are started off in, they won't appreciate being transplanted into a medium that is cold and soggy all winter and bakes like concrete in summer. If you're not up for adding tons of compost, well-rotted manure, grit and possibly lime, at least be prepared to add organic matter to a largish planting hole each time you plant.

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Digginginclay

Ratings:
      +0