Newbie - Honda petrol lawnmower help

Discussion in 'Tools And Equipment' started by NorthernGreen, Mar 31, 2016.

1. NorthernGreen

NorthernGreen Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    (New gardening in general and new to the forum. I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the right place but here it goes...)

Due to my Dad passing away recently I've had to take on the responsibility on cutting the grass at my parents house as I wouldn't expect my mother or isters to do it.
    I've had very little experience in cutting grass as my Dad used to do it all and it used to look perfect.

I'm using a Honda DRD 535 mower. I can cut the grass but it doesn't look tidy. I do know how to go up and down the lawn in order to get the desired pattern but there just seems to be something wrong with the way the mower is cutting the grass.
    The blades spin and the mower moves forward by itself but once the blades start cutting grass the mower will cut out. The best way to cut the grass seems to be if i put a bit of weight on the mower so that it goes into a "wheelie" position so that the blades are tipped up from the ground. The main issue with this is that the mower will then spit the cut grass out and back onto the lawn...making it look untidy.
    I've fiddled around with the cut height but it doesn't really make a difference.
    I manage to cut the whole lawn...then I try to go back over it again when it's shorter and try and tidy it up but it doesn't really make a difference.
    The mower has plenty of fuel in it....I'm not sure if it is something I'm doing or something that needs tweaked with the mower....or both.
    All I know about the mower is how to fill the petrol up.

Thanks in advance

2. JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
    +48,979
    Firstly welcome to the forum NorthernGreen.

Sounds like it could be blocked up, the exit point from the deck into the collection bag must be clear - if not you will get the symptoms you describe.