Newbie just inherited a garden & clueless :(!

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by EdenG, Nov 2, 2014.

1. EdenG

EdenG Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +8
    Hello,

I am new here & I would really like some help please.

My mum passed away a few months ago & left behind a beautiful garden full of flowers & roses & I have no gardening experience what so ever! I've been trying to look up what to do with the garden in Oct/November but it's all really confusing! Everything seems to be dying and it seems such a shame to let all her hard work just go to waste :(!

Should I be cutting anything back?
    Should I have put fertiliser down by now?
    Should I be adding extra soil to pots?
    Should I be doing anything with the soil?
    I read that I should be taking all the leaves off, is that from the entire rose plant?

There is lots of plants growing up the trellis but it all seems to be dead, should I cut it all right back?

There is also a long trough out the front with three mini rose trees that have tiny rose flowers & they all seem to be dead, do I just leave them for winter now?

There also seems to be a green fly problem, i've sprayed the flowers with anti-green fly spray but it doesn't seem to be doing anything.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thank you! xxx

2. "M"

"M" Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +31,885
    :sign0016: to GC EdenG
    Condolences on the loss of your mother :grphg:

To be able to give you the very best advice, forum members would prefer to see photographs of the garden and, in particular the plants. The "plants" could be anything and without knowing what they are, could lead to being given the wrong advice.

The garden is clearly very important to you and we wish to give you the best advice possible. So, grab your camera, take photo's and then post them on here :blue thumb:

3. maria

maria Gardener

Ratings:
    +864