Newbie with no cluebie!

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by DavidMey, Mar 24, 2024.

1. DavidMey

DavidMey Apprentice Gardener

Desk bound office bod
    Ratings:
    +5
    Good morning all,

I am very new to gardening and thought the best place to start might be a friendly forum such as this one.
    I have a relatively small garden which currently has zero plants in it… yup, not one :(

The main reason for this is that we have a young son (a year and a half) so our focus has been on him and we also opted for a very, very basic maintenance free front and back garden due to having no gardening knowledge, being a little apprehensive about taking on any kind of gardening, for ease… and yes, a smidge of laziness! :-o

However, now the time has come that not only would I like to get my own fingers and little muddy so to speak I would like my son to have the same experience and enjoy what nature has to offer.

Anyway, enough waffle, I came on here to ask for any recommendations for some pot plants, any tips and any general advice on starting with a few simple pot plants that we can plant up, leave out and ideally let them take care of themselves where possible.
    We are blessed with a home that has very sunny front back gardens most of the year (we do live in the UK so I say that with a slight smile), although we do have some shady areas too below the fenced areas and around our garden office.

in summary… COMPLETE beginner, looking for a handful of potted plants to begin with in our mainly sunny back garden. Any help or advice very much appreciated.

David

• Friendly Friendly x 4
    • Butterfly6

Butterfly6 Gardener

Keeping busy
      Ratings:
      +575
      Hello David,

Why pot plants? I only ask as generally plants in the ground are usually easier to look after than pots.

• Agree Agree x 4
      • fairygirl

fairygirl Total Gardener

retired
        Ratings:
        +4,477