Newly arrived

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Mozziedodger, Oct 6, 2024.

1. Mozziedodger

Mozziedodger Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +4
    Hi,
    This is my first time on a gardening forum, it never occurred to me previously to try. My Dad was always my go to if I was stuck but he departed for pastures new in 2018.
    My garden is a constant source of frustration, dig down three feet and you hit solid clay. What’s on top of that is really top notch, but it doesn’t take much to flood and my rose beds are often awash. I have to confess to having a strange obsession with a beautifully manicured, stripy lawn, I know it’s no longer politically correct but I don’t smoke, drink to excess and I’m kind to animals.
    At the rear we back onto an Arboretum with some beautiful trees forming a constantly moving backdrop, with heavy shade through the summer months. And we are blessed with a constant tag team of mozzies which will eat you alive at this time of year.
    I’m looking forwards to getting to know you all.
    Mike

• Like Like x 2
    • Busy-Lizzie

Busy-Lizzie Total Gardener

Retired
      Ratings:
      +3,464
      Hello Mike and welcome.

3ft of top notch soil on clay sounds great to me. My garden in SW France has 6 to 12 inches of soil on clay! Roses like clay and it does hold into water in times of drought.

Last edited: Oct 7, 2024
    • Michael Hewett

Michael Hewett Total Gardener

Retired
      Ratings:
      +19,538
      Welcome to Gardeners corner :smile:

• ViewAhead

ViewAhead Head Gardener

South of the South Downs, north of the sea!
      Ratings:
      +3,913
      Good morning, @Mozziedodger ... and welcome. Whereabouts are you gardening? Hopefully all the mozzie activity has died down by now and you can venture out without attack. Sounds idyllic living by an arboretum. :)

• Victoria

Victoria Lover of Exotic Flora

Lady of Leisure
      Ratings:
      +55,708
    • Sheal

Sheal Total Gardener

Ratings:
      +54,135