Not posh enough for greenhouse,

Discussion in 'Greenhouse Growing' started by compostee, Nov 4, 2006.

1. compostee

compostee Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I only have a polytunnel, does that count for this board? 30' x 14' on a slight slope, 3' higher at one end. the floor area is totally membraned. I have a large population of frogs and toads and very few snails. It's very full of perennials, potted to sell, and a load of seeds sown, eg aliums and perennial grasses. In the summer it's full of veg, including sweet corn in gro bags. It runs se to nw. Has doors either end for easy access and full ventilation. My query is that i expect the polythene to eventually give in a couple of years or so, (it's 3yrs old now)Would it be advisable to remove the original sheet, or place the second over, and would it give greater protection in winter?

2. PeterS

PeterS Total Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +4,015
    Compostee - I have no first hand knowledge, but I would be tempted to remove the original sheet. The two sheets will let less light through, but I doubt that they would give better protection in winter. The insulation from two sheets of plastic, or double glazing in the house, does not come from the sheets themselves but from the still air trapped between them. Still air is a very good insulator. That is what keeps our clothes warm and the duvet warm at night - its the trapped air. In your case there would be no trapped air between the two sheets.

They might however be a bit stronger physically, ie to wind damage. But that is a different matter.

3. macleaf

macleaf Gardener

Ratings:
    +0