Osteospermum

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Supernube, May 6, 2014.

1. Supernube

Supernube Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    Hello all.
    I have no experience with plants and need your help please.
    I have just planted some Osteospermum in a small narrow border in front of a very low footpath wall....with the intention of them spreading out and covering the area.
    My wife planted some ..what she calls 4 o'clock Daisies....apparently a weed ? and they have just spread and spread... we have no idea what these 4 o'clock Daisies are actually called but my question is will the Osteospermum do the same ?
    I have planted four plants about 18 inches apart...hoping they will do the rest...and some more besides ?
    Any help or advice will be very much appreciated.
    Thank you
    Daniel

2. clueless1

clueless1 member... yep, that's what I am:)

Ratings:
    +19,596
    Osteospurmum is a lovely plant, but it is not hardy. Anything but the mildest British winter will wipe it out.

3. Supernube

Ratings:
    +3
    Oh....ok....what would you suggest as a replacement ?
    I like pillows of colour...a phrase my wife is sick of hearing..I dont like leggy sticky things.
    I would like to plant something that will come back ..and preferably stay looking reasonably nice during the winter...green at least.
    We are about to discover just how little I know lol.

4. intel

intel Gardener

Ratings:
    +497
    4 o'clock daisies open late afternoon and clueless is correct about Osteospermum or Cape Daisies these plants are from South Africa and will get wiped out by the first frost :(

I did notice that some seed seller's are now selling seeds for hardy plants.

5. Supernube

Ratings:
    +3
  6. Sirius

Sirius Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +1,236
    There is a species of Osteospermum that is hardy.
    Not all that common, and not as colourful as the cultivars the garden centres tend to sell.