Patio being pushed up by tree roots!

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Stephen Montague, Feb 2, 2022.

1. Stephen Montague

Stephen Montague Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi there

We have an old loose-paved circular patio area, maybe 3m diameter, and several of the patio stones are being lifted by roots from silver birch trees (around 10m tall) next to the patio area. The easy solution is to lift the slabs and remove the roots (appreciating they will come back in due course) but I’m most concerned about whether we are likely to destabilise the tree(s) if we do so. Can anyone suggest whether this could be a problem, or am I overthinking it?

Newbie here, so thanks for your help!

2. CanadianLori

CanadianLori Total Gardener

Battle Axe
    Ratings:
    +31,321
    Welcome to the forum! I think it would depend upon on the proximity of the tree? There are many gardeners here who will know what is safe to do.

3. pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
    Ratings:
    +92,052
    I think without seeing what you are likely to be cutting off its going to be difficult for anyone to say.:smile:

• Agree Agree x 1
    • Stephen Montague

Stephen Montague Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
      +1
      Thanks both, I appreciate the quick responses. The trees are no more than a couple of feet from the edge of the patio, and the patio extends a further 10 feet so we’re talking about roots 6-12 feet from the tree. I guess my question really should be about the root systems of silver birch - are they shallow and wide or narrow and deep. I’m sure they extend much further than my little patio, in whichever direction!

• Like Like x 1
      • Janet mahay

Janet mahay Gardener

Ratings:
        +614