Pinching out sweet peas & question about seedlings

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Freedom_Spark, Apr 11, 2010.

1. Freedom_Spark

Freedom_Spark Gardener

Ratings:
    +26
    Hi everyone, just wondering where abouts I should pinch my sweet pea seedlings it's my first attempt at growing them and they look pretty leggy. Also when would be the right time to put largish seedlings such as lupins in the ground, a few of mine have survived my first attempt at over wintering & the weather is fantastic at the moment but I'm worried it may be too risky (last week there was about 5 feet of snow here, :cnfs:) Any advice welcome.

2. Victoria Plum

Victoria Plum Gardener

Ratings:
    +43
    Sweet peas seedlings should be pinched out after the second set of leaves... so follow the stalk up.. go past the first leaves... up to the second and pinch the stalk out of the middle of the second set of leaves. You should be left with two sets of leaves.

Just found this out myself!

I would wait a bit longer for your lupins, until the risk of frosts is past.

3. PeterS

PeterS Total Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +4,016
    Hi Freedom Spark. If you have grown Lupins from seed this year, they are unlikely to flower this year. I grow them from seed and keep them in pots till the autumn when I plant them out. This simply leaves space in the border for something else. So I don't see any rush to plant out new seedlings.

However if they are from seed last year, they will flower this year. They are perfectly hardy so really you can put older ones out any time. But the biggest problem (for me) is slugs. I planted some out last autumn and they got eaten. So rather than plant the rest out I left them in pots over the winter in a gravel area, where they seem to have escaped the slugs. I think mine are big enough now to be able to grow faster than the slugs can eat them. Also slugs don't like older tougher stalks.

4. Victoria Plum

Victoria Plum Gardener

Ratings: